Office of the Dean | Admission | Registrar | Financial Aid | TCU

CSE alumni win TCU Leadership Awards


Two CSE alumni, Brent K. Blackburn ’82 and Hunter Enis ’59 ’63 (MA), received TCU Leadership Awards during the 2019 awards ceremony on April 26th:

Distinguished Alumni Award

First presented in 1954, this award is designated for an alumnus or alumna whose career and endeavors have achieved national prominence in a particular field, bringing credit to himself or herself and, in turn, bringing credit to TCU.

Brent K. Blackburn ’82
San Francisco, California

Dr. Brent Blackburn is an internationally recognized and respected scientist who has been influential in the field of biotechnology. He has had an illustrious career with top biotechnology companies, including CV Therapeutics, Inc., where he rose to the position of senior vice president of drug discovery and development, and helped raise more than $1 billion for various research and development activities, to founding RapidScan Pharma Solutions, Inc., where he was president and CEO. Dr. Blackburn founded and currently serves as chief development officer of Amygdala Neurosciences, a biopharmaceutical company focused on developing and commercializing first-in-class therapy for substance abuse disorders. The company has received research money from the National Institutes of Health to pursue phase II clinical trials. Dr. Blackburn serves on the College of Science & Engineering External Advisory Board.


Valuable Alumni Award

The recipient of this award is an alumnus or alumna who has rendered outstanding and continuing service to the University and/or to the Alumni Association. The contributions of the individual are also in terms of financial support.

Hunter Enis ’59, ’63 (MA)
Fort Worth, Texas

Hunter Enis completed his undergraduate degree in geology in 1959, followed by a master’s degree in 1963, and later was part of a small group of visionary alumni who helped to create TCU’s Energy Institute. He is currently a member of TCU’s Board of Trustees and is the chair of the Amon G. Carter Stadium Expansion Special Committee. He was also a committee member for the Daniel-Meyer Athletic Complex and stadium renovation projects. Additionally, he has been active with the TCU Alumni Association, serving as a Quinq Club board member and as 50-year gift committee chair for his class reunion. Mr. Enis is a Pillar of the Addison & Randolph Clark Society and a member of the Chancellor’s Council. He supported the Ross Matthews Professorship in Petroleum Engineering as well as the Hunter Enis Chair in Petroleum Geology, which was established in his honor by his friend and business associate Dr. Larry Brogdon in 2014. Mr. Enis has also contributed to several campus building projects, including the Amon G. Carter Stadium East Side Expansion project, the Charlie and Marie Lupton Baseball Stadium, and the Ed and Rae Schollmaier Basketball Complex.



College of Science & Engineering | © 2019 Texas Christian University. All rights reserved.
Suite 102 Tucker Technology Center | TCU Box 298960 | Fort Worth, TX 76129
Phone: 817.257.7727 | Fax: 817.257.7736