Skip to main content

College of Science & Engineering



Richard Denne, Hunter Enis Endowed Chair in Petroleum Geology, received the Distinguished Educator Award from the Southwest Section of American Petroleum Geologists at their annual conference on June 29. 

The purpose of the Southwest Section of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists (SWS AAPG) is to advance the science and profession of geology, especially as it relates to the exploration for and development of petroleum, natural gas, and other energy minerals in the southwestern region of the United States. The Southwest Section operates on a nonprofit basis and is comprised of eight local geological societies within Texas and New Mexico.

Denne was nominated by two TCU alumni and recent geology graduate students, Marissa English and Mary Grace Moran. “Dr. Denne’s classes were centered around an open discussion. In the core lab or out in the field, he would ask, ‘What do you see?’ All of our different observations would develop into a free dialogue where every student was actively engaged. His focus on guiding his students through concepts in this way was a huge benefit to me and my classmates,” Moran says.

Learn more about TCU’s Department of Geological Science and the Southwest Section of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists.